Scuba diving at Point Lobos State Park and Marine Sanctuary.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The year was 2005, wow, when I write that date down it seems so far away but feels like yesterday.  We had recently come off of a dive trip to Cozumel with some friends, and planned a post dive trip to Point Lobos State Marine Preserve in Carmel, CA.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Point Lobos State Marine Preserve only allows 30 divers per day, so if you have a large party or want to make certain that you can dive on a specific day, then securing a reservation is the only way to go.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We took a beautiful hike called the North Shore trail along the banks of the ocean. The weather was beautiful and there were plenty of wild flowers.  The weather was beautiful and the water looked flat in Whaler’s cove.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Our dive plan was to take a Zodiac boat around the entrance to Whalers Cove and dive the Cannery Point Pinnacles.  We were all advanced divers, the water was rougher than I would have asked for on this day, but since we had a reservation we did not have an option to wait until the next day.  It appeared that the waves were crashing and peaking right where we planned to enter.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The captain of our boat had been diving since he was 13.  He was very experienced. He was diving with our family friend Mike, which is how we met the group.

There was another couple in the group, they had their own zodiac boat.  They were advanced divers as well.   We were all confident in our experience, maybe overly so.

The sea was rough this day, once we past the surf, and motored out past Whaler’s Cove, the swells were 3-5’ feet high.  One second you saw the second boat, the next second they were behind the swell.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I did not want to get into the water. I was afraid.  I was starting to feel sea sick, so I knew that the best option for me was not to be waiting for the team on the surface. I don’t normally get sea sick. I needed to get into the water and get down below where the water should have been calmer.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We stopped and dropped the anchor. There were markings on the rope to measure the depth.  10’, 20, 30’ etc. I was expecting the depth to be 60’ as that is what we had discussed in the plan, it kept going 70’, 80, and finally it rested on the bottom at 90’.  Well that was deeper than I expected to be diving today.  And deeper than I wanted to be diving today.

I was an experienced diver; at this time I had been diving for 7 years.  I had made hundreds of dives during these seven years. I had certainly dove deeper than 90’, as I had dove Devil’s Throat in Cozumel at 132’.  Just recently we made a dive to 122 feet… in warm water.  This was cold Pacific water, and we were weighted down with our farmer john 7 mil dive suite, bcd, tanks, regulators, depth meters, dive computers, hood, gloves, weights and flash lights.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One of the most important rules of diving is that if you are diving outside of your comfort zone or experience level abandon the dive. This rule came to mind on this day. But I gave myself a good pep talk and told myself that I was surrounded by experience, had plenty of my own experience, and I been afraid to dive before and had a great time.  Plus, it was not going to go well for me on that boat with these swells.

I got into the water. It was cold. The swells were making me nauseous at the surface.   The experienced team was quickly ready to descend and so was I.  We started our descent, it wasn’t bad the water was a murky army green, with a hint of yellow.  I could feel myself relaxing into the water, and focused on my breathing and equalizing, relieving the pressure in my ears.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I reached for my depth gauge; 20’, 30’ the water was getting darker, 40’, 50’, 60’ the light was gone but I had my flashlight in one hand, 70’, 80’, 86’ we hit bottom and I couldn’t see a thing.

I landed on my feet.  Not being able to see wasn’t my biggest problem.  There was a 10’ surge on the bottom, so it was difficult to see anyone.  It was impossible to stand still. Where was my husband? Where were the other experienced divers? I started to panic.

This was not the calm that I expected to find at the bottom.  I could see my husband and a few flash lights.  My heart was beating rapidly as I was terrified.  It was dark, pitch black, cold, impossible to see, and because of the surge, I couldn’t get organized.  I like to take a moment to take inventory of my dive gear when I get to the bottom but I couldn’t.  I didn’t feel comfortable enough to take the next step and find neutral buoyancy.  With better visibility I would have never allowed myself to hit the bottom, but I couldn’t see.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I felt frazzled. I was hanging onto my husband for dear life.  I could see Mike, he looked and gave me the signal if I was ok.  I was alive.  I gave him the symbol for ok back. I was not ok.  The next thing I see was his fins kicking in the distance.  Wait. I wasn’t ready.  I am not ready yet.  Why are they leaving us?

Now it’s just me and my husband in this deep dark ocean.  I am still clinging to my husband I motion to him that I want to go back to the surface.  I am abandoning this dive.  I can’t breathe enough air in this tank to manage my fright.  He agrees.

There is a dive ascent/descent line attached to the anchor with lights.  We make our way over to the ascent line.  We start to Ascend. I feel so much better.  We get to about 60’ and I can start to see some light in the water. My dive computer alarm goes off, I am ascending too fast.  I stop kicking my fins, but the alarm does not stop, it’s the swells that are taking us up with them but I do not know that at the time. I assume I have too much air in my BCD.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I attempt to release some of the air but release too much and quickly descend back to the bottom of the ocean. What the heck just happened? I just dropped 25 feet in seconds. Why am I on the bottom again in total blackness?  Now I am hyper ventilating into my regulator. My husband is right there next to me so the same thing happened to him. Thank God. I don’t know what would have happened if I were alone.

This time I am getting out of here.  I add a little air to my bcd and start to gently kick for the surface. I focus on my breathing as to not damage my lungs. I am breaking dive rules and my dive alarm is going off, I don’t care. I just want out of this water.   I make it to the surface, and relief floods my body. I feel like crying but I am in a kelp bed and I can’t move, but I am so happy to be alive. I am also slight terrified and expect the bends to set in at any minute.

I see my husband at the surface a few minutes later. He is trying to make his way over to the boat. The other team is also trying to get into their boat too.  They have also abandoned the dive. I can’t move towards the boat at all, as I am completely wrapped in the kelp.  My husband comes to my rescue and starts cutting me free.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I make my way to the boat.  I’m too heavy and too tired to get into the boat.  I cling to the side.  My husband gets into the boat and pulls me into the boat.  I feel more relief.  The other dive group is leaning over the side of the boat getting sick.  I am sitting in the middle of the boat waiting to get the hell out of here.

About 20 minutes later, giving us a chance to calm down, the other dive team surfaced.  I am pretty pissed that these experienced divers would just abandon us but I don’t let it show.  They are not paid guides.  They are our friends.

I sit and suffer in silence waiting to see if I experience any symptoms related to the Bends.  I told my husband the first thing I want to do when we get off this boat is to seek medical treatment. So far I have no signs.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We travel back to land mostly in silence.  Mike is still excited about his trip and tell us what he saw.  I am trying not to spoil his dive high, so I smile at him. I am not smiling on the inside.

We get back to land and I help the team put the boat away.  We pack up our dive gear.  My husband is not overly concerned about the bends, as we were not at depth long enough.  I feel some relief but I would feel better getting looked over by a medical professional.  Needless to say, there are not a lot of doctors that specialize in diving.

I call my dive insurance and they offer to rush a team out to me.  I tell them I don’ think that is necessary at the time since I am not experiencing any systems.  The give me the location of two hyperbaric chambers that are close to me.  If I choose the treatment, I must stay in the chamber 48 hours.  I decide I should wait to see if I experience any systems, but at least I have some answers.  I promise to see a dive doctor as soon as possible. The give me the name and number of a doctor in Sacramento.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Since I’ve opted not to get into the hyperbaric chamber.   I did see the physician when I returned and received a well-deserved lectured me on diving outside of my experience or comfort level.

I am almost embarrassed to tell this story as I do have a beautiful friend Liz McTernan with a dive experience that almost killed her and left her paralyzed from the waist down.  She did get the bends, when her BCD malfunctioned at 130′ towards the end of her dive. She is now a competitive para-triathlete, and is about to compete in the 2017 Iron Man World Championships in Kona, Hawaii in later this month.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Wishing Liz the best, and I hope she wins.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-4843370/Para-triathlete-left-paralysed-diving-accident.html#ixzz4ulAzBlgL

Knowing Liz’s story makes me appreciate and understand how fear can drive you make a stupid mistake while diving.  She was an experienced diver and had not made any mistakes.  Her circumstance was out of her control. What if I had panicked towards the end of my dive? Would the story have a different ending?

After 20 years, I am still diving today and I know I would not make these same mistakes today.

Thank you for joining us. Please be sure to follow my blog if you want to keep up with our weekly adventures.  If you enjoyed this post, please like this post or like my page or follow my weekly blog at Stephanie’s RV Travels.  Comments are welcome and enjoyed. If you have a favorite place to go, that you would like to share please share in comments or send me a message.

Have you ever had a diver experience that embarrasses you?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

31 thoughts on “Scuba diving at Point Lobos State Park and Marine Sanctuary.

  1. I have actually never been diving before but I am sorry to hear about the incident 7 years into your diving experience. I am so glad that you made it out but that must have been such a scary situation to have been in. We all make mistakes so it is great that you are sharing your story to show other divers that it is important to know your limitations.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t think you should be embarrassed. Yeah, it’s not the best thing you’ve ever done but once you realised you were well out of your comfort zone you made the right choice to abandon the dive. Everything that happened afterwards wasn’t your fault.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is absolutely nothing to be embarrassed about. I once had a seasoned diver with me in Bali and he chucked out at the last minute saying he was getting the jitters. And he had logged on over 40 dives before that. So you see things happen:)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow! What a terrifying story. It is especially poignant because you developed the events leading up to the dive, and shared right through what happened during and afterwards.
    I’ve never been diving but, I know of the inherent dangers that come with such a precision sport. I’m glad you made it out okay and didn’t need the hyperbaric chamber to decompress.
    I am especially glad that you dedicated the post to your dear friend, Liz McTernan. I hope she wins too .

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Don’t be embarrassed, we learn from past experiences in life and that what matters the most. Once we have a situation in life, we learn from it and make our selves more prepared for the next time, if ever have to deal with it again.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I have never been to diving and I am embarrassed to say that. You have shared such an amazing story of your experience and what matters is “experience”. I am glad that you had a good diving partner and you’re safe. 🙂

    Like

  7. Oh, my gosh Stephanie! What an incredible story. I know that my gut never steers me wrong, but at the same time, I would have been like you. “We’re already here. We only have this one chance. It’ll be ok.” Also, how beautiful to dedicate your post to Liz. What a survivor to have recovered to compete in an Iron Man. x

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sometimes sharing your embarassing moments after years have past makes it a lovely conversation, and a good guide for the next. Lovely photographs! Dont feel embarrassed no matter what. No regrets and enjoy life.

    Like

  9. This is definitely not embarrassing! it is very scary though! This is the sort of thing that puts me off diving altogether, the idea of getting stuck down there gives me the heeby jeebies and it sounds like a horrible experience for you. Luckily you’re ok (and good luck liz!)

    Like

  10. Beautiful pictures! I never dived in the ocean, but I used to be in a diving team as a sport for my school and on the first lesson they took us to the top one and had us look down as kind of an initiation, so we get our goals and reach the “top” one day and I thought we had to dive, so I just jumped and I had bruises by the impact on the pool. Yep, all that at the age of 7.

    Like

  11. I’m not sure if I commented on this before. I looked through the comments and didn’t see my name. But I feel like I have read this before. I love this post. It is amazing and scary all at the same time. I would never want to be in that position. I’m glad your whole party was safe.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Pingback: Ascend – White Church – What's (in) the picture?

  13. I could feel your fear and relate to it as I read your story. It’s been about 15 years since my last dive but I can still remember a couple of dives where I felt I just didn’t feel comfortable and aborted the dive early. My most embarrassing experience was on a deep drift dive in Cozumel very soon after getting certified. I was just drifting along watching the fish not looking at my depth gauge. My husband swam over to me, pointed to the gauge and motioned for me to come up. I was way too deep when he found me. It was only for a few seconds and I was fine but I learned my lesson! Never happened again.

    When I saw the title of this post included “scuba diving” I had to read it. It wasn’t until I got to the end of your post that I realized your blog is about RVing. That gives us two things in common!

    Like

    • Thank you. We do have a lot in common! It’s lessons like these that make us better divers, but it also makes me understand why the classes are so in depth. It can be a dangerous sport. I love diving in Cozumel, it is one of my favorite places to dive. Warm water diving, friendly locals, and clean beaches; it is definitely one of my favorite places. Have you taken your RV down to the Keys, or to Mexico for Scuba diving? We tried the camper van in the Keys but my husband couldn’t get comfortable so we ended up staying in hotels for the rest of trip.

      Like

  14. That sounds like a terrifying experience. Even though I was born and raised in coastal Florida, I have never been diving. I doubt that I ever will because even snorkeling makes me feel claustrophobic and like I can’t get enough air. I do love the ocean though and respect its powers. Your photos are lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment